University of Helsinki

The University of Helsinki, established in 1640, is the most versatile university in Finland. It includes eleven faculties: Agriculture and Forestry, Arts, Behavioural Sciences, Biological and Environmental Sciences, Law, Medicine, Pharmacy, Science, Social Sciences, Theology and Veterinary Medicine. The university has ca. 36,500 students and 8600 employees. The activities are located on four campuses.

High-level research is carried out at the departments of the faculties and departmentally affiliated research stations, as well as at independent research institutes. The Academy of Finland has designated 12 units of the University of Helsinki as National Centres of Excellence in Research for 2008-2013 and 10 units for 2012-2017.

The university lays special emphasis on the quality of education and research. The university monitors the research quality by organising research assessment exercises using international peer review process approximately every six years. The University of Helsinki is a member of the League of the European Research Universities (LERU).

The department of Computer Science at the Faculty of Science of the University of Helsinki is the leading Finnish research and education institute in its field. The Department's research and teaching focus on 1) algorithms and machine learning, 2) networks and services, as well as 3) software systems. The department has three Finnish centres of excellence funded by the Academy of Finland and cooperates closely in research projects with the Helsinki Institute for Information Technology (HIIT). The department is also one of ten Finnish centres of excellence in university education. The department has a staff of 170 and an overall budget of EUR 11 million. Its research infrastructure is excellent, including its own 1960-core computing cluster.

Aalto University

Aalto-korkeakoulusäätiö, operating as Aalto University (AALTO), is a Finnish multidisciplinary university in the fields of science and technology, economics, architecture, and art and design. Aalto University employs 338 professors and has a student body of 20,000, 70 % of which are students in science and technology. Aalto University is directed by President Professor Tuula Teeri.

Aalto University was founded in 2010 by merging three Finnish universities: The Helsinki School of Economics, The University of Art and Design Helsinki, and Helsinki University of Technology. The three schools are all leading and renowned institutions in their respective fields and in their own right. In particular, the formerly independent Helsinki University of Technology is the second-oldest university in Finland, and the leading Finnish university of technology and architecture. It was established in 1849 and received university status in 1908. Helsinki University of Technology continues its activities in the form of four Aalto University Schools of technology corresponding to its former faculties: the School of Chemical Technology, the School of Electrical Engineering, the School of Engineering and the School of Science.

The Department of Computer Science ­(CS) is the largest department at Aalto University and the largest CS unit in Finland with 42 professors and more than 400 employees. It is part of the School of Science in Aalto University, and the Head of Department is Prof. Lauri Savioja. The CS Department provides world-class research and education in modern computer science to foster future science, engineering and society. The work combines fundamental research with innovative applications. Both research and education are characterized by constructive and experimental approaches, with close connections to industry. Many of the projects at the department are multidisciplinary, taking advantage of the opportunities created by Aalto University. The department is known for its innovative and consistently high-quality work matching the very best teams in the world, and is a coveted partner in international collaborations. The department contributes to the Helsinki Institute for Information Technology HIIT and the Helsinki node of the EIT ICT Labs.